What are chakras?

Chakras Definition

Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning wheel or vortex of light. The chakras are subtle energy centers aligned with the central channel (Sushumna Nadi) of the Kunḍalinī system. They are Centers for exchange between physical and non-physical energy. Like transformers, they change subtle prana into physical energy flowing through a system of ‘Nadis’ (psychic channels) and the meridian system. 

Types of Chakras:

Seven primary Kundalini chakra or energy centers stretch from the base of the spine to the top of the head. Depicted as “wheels” of energy that are constantly in motion, the chakra governs the overall functions of the human body, from our organs to our emotions.


Underactive, overactive, and blocked chakra can cause disruptions in the flow of energy along the spinal column creating chakra imbalances. Many disorders can occur until the imbalance is corrected, including intense stress, emotional instability, and physical illness.

They provide subtle energy to the body organs, mind, and intellect functions. However, they are primarily associated with the subtle body of a person. Their names, in ascending order from below to upward, are as follows:

1Muladhara ( Root Chakra) The base of the spineRed
2Swadishthana (Sacral Chakra)Below the NavelOrange
3Manipura (Solar Plexus Chakra)Stomach AreaYellow
4Anahata (Heart Chakra)Center of ChestGreen
5Vishuddhi (Throat Chakra )The base of the throatBlue
6Agya ( Third Eye Chakra )Forehead, between
the eyebrows
7Sahasrara ( Crown Chakra )Top of HeadViolet

It’s important to remember that the location of the seven chakras varies slightly depending on the traditions or school of thought. Some may place the second one slightly to the left of the body, at the level of the spleen, while others will recognize it lower at the level of the gonads.

Even though the seven chakras are associated with specific body parts, they are not “physical” entities per se but belong to the realm of “subtle energy.” They can be described at the crossroads of the material and the immaterial, the biological and the spiritual, and pertain to the body, mind, and spirit.

The Brahmarandhra is a subtle opening above the Sahasrar-chakra from which Divine energy is received. The Kundalini passing the Brahmarandhra indicates the spiritually evolved merging with God.

We often hear people discuss their chakra and whether some chakra is opened or closed, or indicating that the chakra needs to be balanced. This is a misnomer as the chakra does not get activated until a higher spiritual level. For the vast majority of people, they are dormant.

They refer to the active Chetana, also known as vital energy (Prana-shakti). For example, the vital energy, which is strong in and around the heart region, would be incorrectly referred to as the Heart chakra open in spiritual healing parlance.

These chakras are called “wheels” or “centers” of energy along the spinal canal. They are in motion and have their color and vibrational frequency. These wheels set the ability of a person. They govern various emotional issues, from our survival instincts and self-esteem to our ability to communicate and experience love. These chakras’ imbalance or blockage can lead to mental, emotional, physical, and spiritual ailments.

Balancing chakras and healing with the chakra energy system requires a working knowledge of chakras and their functions. You can balance chakras through Asana, Pranayama, Bandhas, and relaxing meditation combining Visualizations, Hand Movements, and Affirmations.

You may also use chakra stones, crystals, reiki, or another form of vibrational healing to restore chakra balance.

Everything we do or think influences the vitality of our chakras.

These circular energy centers are in constant motion, rotating, attracting energy, receiving, or radiating. The chakras are our source of healing energy and healing power.

Whether you can see your chakras or even believe in them isn’t essential. They are an intrinsic system that influences your experiences in life. Everything is made of energy, and so are you.

By becoming more receptive to subtle energy, you will develop sensitivity and deeper awareness of yourself and others.

By balancing and opening your chakras through deep breathing and meditation, you will enhance your well-being and vitality and improve the quality of your love life and become more open.